The 2012 NFL season has been chock-full of incredible stories and impressive performances, ranging from rookies, to veterans, to players returning from injury.  Each season, one player stands out as an individual who defied all odds.  This player returns from a poor season or a major injury to post stellar numbers and win the NFL’s Comeback Player of the Year Award.

This year, the NFL has two clear winners in that category: Adrian Peterson and Peyton Manning.

But who deserves the win the award?

To answer that question, let’s dive a little deeper, shall we?


Adrian Peterson is putting up MVP-like numbers, but does he deserve to win the Comeback Player of the Year in the NFL?

It was Christmas Eve last season when Adrian Peterson left a game against the Washington Redskins.  He was later diagnosed with an ACL tear.  A severe knee injury is more devastating for a running back.  Yet, Peterson worked his way back and defied all odds by not only playing Week 1, but also scoring two touchdowns in that game.  By now, everyone knows just how stellar Peterson’s performance has been this season.  He’s single-handedly pushing the Vikings to a possible playoff berth.  Heading into the final week of the regular season, Peterson is 102 yards shy of the 2,000-yard mark.

Meanwhile, Peyton Manning missed the 2011 season and went through three or four neck surgeries, depending on which report you read.  Many argued that Manning was facing a possible career-ending injury, likely to never play another down on a football field ever again.

As a result, the Indianapolis Colts – with the top pick in the 2012 NFL Draft – moved on and drafted Andrew Luck.  Manning recovered and signed with the Denver Broncos.  Heading into Week 17, he has thrown for 4,355 yards, with a 103.7 quarterback rating, 34 touchdowns and 11 interceptions.


Peyton Manning has the Denver Broncos on a roll, winning ten straight games.

Clearly, from both a statistical and recovery standpoint, each of the two stars has been very impressive.  If you also look at both Minnesota and Denver’s overall performance, one could argue that both Peterson and Manning have been pivotal to his team’s overall success.

The Broncos are 12-3 and winners of ten straight games.  Denver is currently fighting for a first round bye,  and still has a shot at the AFC’s top overall seed.  The Vikings are 9-6 and currently sitting in the sixth playoff position in the NFC.

Both Adrian Peterson and Peyton Manning are deserving of this award.  During any other season, either would wind up as the runaway winner.

But while Adrian Peterson has had a very impressive and speedy recovery from ACL surgery, it can’t be ignored that Peyton Manning was thought by many to have suffered a career-ending neck injury.  A major knee injury isn’t a cake walk to come back from either, – especially for a running back.  But Manning was in a situation where many assumed he wouldn’t be able to throw with the same velocity, or even set foot on a football field.  On top of that, Peyton Manning didn’t complete one pass during the 2011 season.  Now, he’s arguably right in the thick of the MVP discussion.

Adrian Peterson may just rush for 2,000 yards this season.  If he does, the winner of the 2012 Comeback Player of the Year Award should still be Peyton Manning.

The question remains, do you feel the same way?

Who Will WIN the NFL Comeback Player of the Year Award?

  • Peyton Manning (100%, 3 Votes)
  • Adrian Peterson (0%, 0 Votes)

Total Voters: 3

Loading ... Loading ...

Thank you for visiting The Wife Hates Sports!